CRT: View of the Gods

This month’s CRT is the following:

How do you view the gods? What are they for you? What other kinds of entities do you believe in? How much of your practice has to do with gods and entities?

This has actually been the front of my contemplation for a while. And a lot of how I view the gods is in constant flux as I learn and experience more.

But I guess I can attempt to answer this…

Without a doubt, I view the gods as beings to be respected. Mythology tells me why. For instance, Lugh fought and beat the Fomorians, an oppressive force to the Tuatha Dé Danann. And then there is personal gnosis, such as how Lugh aids me with advice and counsel.

But the precise nature of gods…I’m not sure. There is something different about Lugh, Brigid, Manánnan, and so forth. They aren’t just merely humans. And there is something different about them and human heroes. I don’t know what. I don’t know if I can explain it.

I do know that I don’t think of Gods as necessarily better than humans. I do think they have lived longer and have a possibility to be wiser. But I have met plenty people older than me who aren’t wise, so age isn’t necessarily. Perhaps these are beings who have seen The Truth (using a Fullmetal Alchemist reference)? That they possess something Otherworldly…which would make sense.

In my personal practice, they play a large role. Specifically, Lugh, whom I am especially devoted too. I find myself relying on Lugh and other deities for guidance, advice, and companionship. I may eventually shift some more focus onto my ancestors as I learn more about them, but since I know so little about my actual ancestry, I lean more on the Gods.

As for entities I believe in, I believe in the possibility for almost any entity. I believe the Goodfolk and the Tuatha Dé Danann overlap but are not the same. I believe in such mythological forces such as the Banshee, Pooka, and Selkies.

I also believe in various ideas about Spirits, such as land spirits, water spirits, etc. I tend to think a lot of things have a spirit or energy about them.

This is a lot of woo because a lot of what I think isn’t supported by anything other than intuition and gut responses. Maybe someday I can expand on why I believe the way I do. Who knows…?

 

One thought on “CRT: View of the Gods

  1. Pingback: January 2015 Topic | Celtic Round-Table

Leave a Reply

