I may have a problem.

Books

My Celtic and Irish Books

I was realizing I have made a decently sized unlibrary of Celtic and Irish books… I say unlibrary ‘cause I haven’t finished most of them yet,  the exception being of Ellis’ book. I also have read a large chunks of Celtic Wonder Tales and Other StoriesThe Year in Ireland, and Celtic Gods and Heroes.

On the left hand side of the photo is a new buy: “Language/30 Irish.” It was only $10 at the used book store, and the reviews said it was a good as an introduction to the language (more for things if one was traveling to the country and want to hold simple conversations.) Considering I’m awful at pronunciation and learning languages, I thought it’d be a good first step in conjunction to this post’s resources.

The next stack of books are as follows (top to bottom):

  • The Year in Ireland by Kevin Danaher
  • The Celts by Bernhard Maier (started this)
  • The Story of the Irish Race by Seumas MacManus
  • The Lore of Ireland by Dáithí O hOgáin (read sections of this book)
  • The Historical Atlas of the Celtic World by Dr. Ian Barnes (read sections of this book)

In between the two stacks, from left to right, is:

  • Irish Cures, Mystic Charms & Superstitions by Lady Wilde (read parts of this)
  • Celtic Gods and Heroes by Marie-Louise Sjoestedt
  • The Celtic Twilight: Faerie and Folklore by W.B. Yeats

The last stack of books are as follows (top to bottom):

  • Celtic Myth and Legends by Peter Berresford Ellis
  • The Táin by Ciaran Carson
  • Celtic Wonder Tales and Other Stories by Ella Young
  • Irish Folk & Fairy Tales Omnibus by Michael Scott
  • Irish Ways (The Story of Ireland in Song,Music and Poetry) by Ron Kavana (this book comes with four CDs to play while reading!)

I still have a lot of other books I want to get eventually, but this is a decent start I think.

Leave a Reply

